Aldington & Bonnington now have a new website:

Chairman : 

Parish Clerk: 



The ward was created in 2002 following an independent review of electoral boundaries. The last time that these eight parishes were united under a common banner was in the early 19th Century when, for almost 100 years, they formed part of the now long disbanded East Ashford Poor Law Union, which had its Workhouse at Willesborough on the outskirts of Ashford.
Map of Saxonshore Parishes
The ward name alludes to the Saxon Shore Way, an ancient footpath that followed the coastline from Gravesend to Rye and beyond. The footpath connected a series of Roman forts (e.g. Richborough, Lympne) built to keep out Saxon marauders. In Roman times, when Romney Marsh was still partially under water, this coastal footpath ran through four of the eight parishes in the modern-day ward. In 1980 the Saxon Shore Way was recreated by Kent County Council as a 163-mile public footpath.



Site designed by CJA Consulting

© The site, its content, layout, design and structure are the copyright of Aldington and Bonnington Parish Council.

This site was last updated on 14 December 2007
Return to top of page
Hastingleigh Brabourne Smeeth Aldington Bonnington Bilsington Brook Ruckinge